Noodles and Apricots – The Holidays: Part one

Hello Bloggers,
It would seem as though I have decided to blog again (cue: cheers) But before I begin, I just want to say, that this post has nothing to do with noodles or apricats. (whatever they are) I just needed a title, so I made a completely unrelated one up. Hmm, makes sense.
So my news for the last few weeks. I have been on holiday, which has been great, buuut now it’s ended, which sucks. There were some great highlights though, and some lowlights 😦 unfortunately, but lets start with the highlights.

Highlights:

One of my dearest friendling’s 16th birthday was on Monday, the 8th of July. She had a Oscar themed murder mystery. Oh my gravy, it was fun! All the guys were in suits and smart shoes, and the ladies were full of glamour and allurement. I myself felt that I did a tolerable job with my outfit, as you can see in the photo.

Attitude So, that is me and my little sister in our pre party gear, here at home, minus the bling. 😉 (“Who’s who?” You might whisper) Oh, I’m sorry, lil’ sis is in the long dress and I’m in the short one. I apologise for the amount of ‘attitude’ in the poses, but we were home alone, we had our first dress up party in a coupla days, and we just get really over excited. Any how, we will now skip to the day of the party itself.

The Morning: Us girls (meaning Me, Sis, and the Friend with whom we were staying) got dropped off at Cavendish Mall in Cape Town, where we browsed and shopped for small things until Friend’s mom came to pick us up. Then we went back home and ate lunch and organised what acessories we were going to wear.

 The Afternoon:  We suddenly realised what the time was (3:00pm) and had a quick panic attack, (the party started at 7:00pm) because we still had to get dressed, do our make up, and pack some stuff up, all while keeping Friend’s two foster sisters under control (very stressful) I was elected to go and keep the girls entertained while the other two had their make up done, so I went to their room, took out the lego and the train set, and played trains with them for about an hour, until I was summoned for my make up session, (I have never played so much train in my life, not even when I was a kid.) My make up was duly done and we got dressed, (speed dressing) Then, perhaps the cherry on top was, I then discovered my stockings which I was going to wear, had probably the worst ladders in them, that I have ever seen (cue, gasp). I rushed to Friend (who was getting her hair done) and informed her of my stockingless position, aaaand she said that she had some invisi stockings, I almost hugged her then and there, but since her mom had in her hand, a hot flat iron, I decided against it.

We all got our hair, make up, and packing done that we had to do, and we set off….

The Party: We ended up arriving fashionably late, (Ok, we actually arrived at about 6:55pm, but shhh 😉 ) And once we had dismounted our trusty carriage and gone inside, we re-met so many people from our childhood, ok not so many, like 2. But we saw all our friends who we hadn’t seen for about six months which was absolutely fab

Character List:

  1. Vanity Affair (A Millionaire)
  2. Dana Darling (Hollywood Diva)
  3. Angel Wood (Aspiring Actress)
  4. Steffi Wood (Actress)
  5. Jada Broken (Actress)
  6. Barbie Doll (Pop star and Aspiring Actress
  7. Natasha Gibson (Young Actress)
  8. Lola Talent (Latin Diva)
  9. Mario Talent (Aspiring Actor)
  10. Hobart Hughes (Director)
  11. Bobby Calling (Casting Director)
  12. Penelope Hughes (Director’s Wife)
  13. Princess Pop (Pop Star)
  14. Brady Comeback (Pop Star)
  15. Hunter Star (Pop Star and Aspiring Actor)
  16. Avery Scout (Talent Representative)
  17. J.J  Scoop (Entertainment News Reporter)
  18. M.C Award (Award Show Emcee)
  19. T. Redd (Aspiring Rap Artist)
  20. Ward Winner ( President of the Academy)

The names are really really really lame, and just for interest’s sake, I was Nats Gibson. 🙂

So, by that time, it was time to kick the party off, so the master of ceremonies, (Birthday Girl’s dad) started with his ceremony thing, and introduced everyone, and Birthday Girl did her welcome speech, and introduced everyone to the game. And then we started..

So, at the beginning of the game, we each got a envelope containing our identity (which we already knew, from a previous email we had received) our first objectives of the evening and some fake money, so there was nothing left to do except start sucking up, bribing, and getting into our characters for the evening, I happened to suck at all three with the greatest of ease. 🙂 I spent the first part of the evening chatting and trying to complete my objectives, (I got about 2 out 10 done, which I thought was acceptable) Then suddenly, in the midst of all our chats, the lights went out, there was a piercing scream, and about 5 secs later, a bang. The lights came on, and there was Angel Wood, lying spread out on the floor. Everyone gasped, and some started dabbing away at fake tears, which were threatening to fall. The M.C pulled out another piece of paper, (from his apparently inexhaustible supply,) and started reading, he handed out a second envelope which held still more objectives (Oh jelly tots, I hadn’t finished ma first) Then there was yet more chatting, bribing and arguing (mostly between Hobart and Penelope, who were married) I merely had lots of out of character chats with other willing people, and I think I only got about three of my objectives done, not my fault though, most of them involved Hobart, and he was always busy.

At the end of the evening, we had the prize giving from the ice-breaking quiz, (which we played at the beginning of the evening to well, break the ice) the prize for the best dressed, best actor, best sleuth, the person who had the most money, and so on and so forth. Unfortunately, the best sleuth award didn’t really work, because no-one suspected the murderer, who was (Drumrollllll)  Brady Comeback. So he got the chocolate. Then the parents started arriving, and so we all went home. The End.

So I hope you enjoyed that, I certainly did.  Tune in next week for Part Two of our Holidays

See Y’all later

Anna Montana

The Constructive Feedback Section